Root To Rise {Anusara Yoga}

Last night, I set my alarm for 5:30am so that I could Rise & Run to start my day. Unfortunately, I woke up at 2:30am when my phone rang (thanks to a phone call from the alarm monitoring company at one of the gyms) and I could not fall back to sleep. I finally settled back to sleep about five minutes before the early alarm went off and there was no way I was getting out of bed.

The rest of the morning was equally as frustrating when I wound up sleeping later than I planned and rushing to get to work on time (whenever I feel rushed, I get easily frustrated with everything around me. I’m working on changing this habit!), so I was relieved when I remembered that I had another Anusara Yoga class tonight.

Once I got home from work, I sat down for a few minutes to relax and do a little meal planning for next week thanks to the newest issue of Cooking Light.

20120614-213836.jpg

I have some big training plans as far as my workouts go (and some fun races and events to plan for!), so I will be planning meals ahead for the upcoming weeks rather than just buying my grocery staples and making what I’m in the mood for that day.

20120614-215130.jpg

After whipping up an Egg and Jammie Sammie, I still had a bit of time to kill before class, so Ruca and I took advantage of the gorgeous weather and took a peaceful stroll around the pond.

If I didn’t have to carry my mat, I would have headed to the studio on my bike tonight, but as awkward and clumsy as I am, I can’t imagine the outlook would have been good:). Instead, I parked a few blocks away and enjoyed another walk under the sun.

20120614-215321.jpg

I love the neighborhood where the studio is located; the buildings have so much character and I was instantly in a good mood after my walk.

The theme of tonight’s class was “Root to Rise,” and focused on building a strong foundation (planting roots) in order to grow (and rise). The theme really resonated with me tonight, and I was quickly at ease mentally. Physically, there was nothin easy about tonight’s class (which is just the way I like it!). My arms, core and hips are on fire, but it’s a good burn. I have bursitis in my right hip, and the primary focus on opening up our hips was exactly what I needed tonight.

With big running plans on the horizon (the Nashville Country Music Marathon & 1/2 – Part of the Rock & Roll Marathon Series – is on my list for April 2013!!), I really want to focus on comprehensive cross training. So far, I have found that yoga has helped to keep me focused, centered, and has really complemented the training I’ve been doing.

Namaste.

20120614-220724.jpg

3 thoughts on “Root To Rise {Anusara Yoga}

Leave a Reply

