Hakuna Frittata {Zucchini & Quinoa Frittata}

As I was trying to decide what to have for dinner last night, I knew I wanted something with eggs, but wasn’t feeling my go-to omelet.  Thanks to an abundance of eggs and a perfectly ripe zucchini, I decided on a frittata knowing I’d have leftovers for an easy breakfast or snack the rest of the week.

SAM_0079

As I started prepping my veggies, I decided I wanted to incorporate some whole wheat quinoa to add a little nutritional punch to the meal.

 SAM_0082

Once the scent of the sautéed garlic, scallions and zucchini wafted my way, I knew I had a killer meal on my hands.

 SAM_0083

Zucchini Quinoa Frittata

by Jennifer Dillinger

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cook Time: 15 Minutes

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients (6-8 Servings)

  • 4 small cloves garlic
  • 2 green onions (scallions)
  • Olive oil, for sauteing
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 6-8 fresh basil leaves
  • 8 eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa

Instructions

Quinoa

Cook quinoa per package directions (use 2 parts water to 1 part quinoa). Quinoa will be done when the grain looks clear around the edges with a dot in the middle. Set aside.

Fritatta

Preheat the broiler.

Prep vegetables: dice garlic and scallions. Slice zucchini in half, length-wise, then in half again (4 quarters). Thinly slice the zucchini into half-moon shapes and set aside.

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat in a nonstick sauté pan, and add garlic and scallions. Sauté for 1 to 2 minutes. As garlic and scallions sauté, chop basil and add chopped basil and sliced zucchini to the pan. Cook the zucchini until tender, about 2-3 minutes. Season the zucchini with salt and pepper. Stir in the cooked quinoa.

SAM_0085

Blend eggs in a blender or food processor with a dash of salt and pepper. Blend on the highest speed.

SAM_0084

Pour the eggs over the zucchini and quinoa mixture, and let it simmer until the eggs firm up (about 3-4 minutes). When the eggs are still just a bit runny on top, place the sauté pan under the broiler for 5 minutes.

SAM_0086SAM_0089

Take pan out of broiler, let it cool and set in pan for 5 minutes. When cool invert a plate on top of pan and turn over. Slice and serve.

Optional

Add in cheese, seasoning or summer vegetables to your taste. This frittata can be customized to create endless flavor combinations!

Powered by Recipage

 

 SAM_0096

I’m telling you, this frittata was EPIC! 

 SAM_0097

The combination of eggs (protein), zucchini (vegetables), and quinoa (grains) made for a nutritionally balanced and complete meal perfect for a light summer dinner. 

 SAM_0098

The best part about this frittata is that it was delicious right out of the oven, but would be great served cold, and it reheated easily for a quick breakfast on the go this morning!

  SAM_0100

Thanks to an earlier conversation about The Lion King with my niece before dinner, I had Hakuna Matata stuck in my head the whole time I was cooking, and found myself singing Hakuna Frittata!  If Hakuna Matata means no worries, then this Hakuna Frittata means you won’t have to worry about spending lots of time creating a nutritionally balanced and delicious meal, fit for a king (even if he is a lion).

Hakuna Frittata, friends!

Leave a Reply

